Harpegnathos venator

Ant harpegnathos venator
Ants of the Harpegnathos venator species are widespread in Southeast Asia, predatory, daring, large (up to 20 mm), distinguished by an unusual appearance, have a black color, yellowish legs and elongated mandibles, can jump about 10 cm in length and are not afraid of light.

In a family, the dominant individual may be a fertilized uterus or gamergate (fertilized worker), if the uterus is dominant in the colony, there may be several gamergates. Development from egg to ant takes about 3 months, about a month for each stage: egg, larva, cocoon.

In the natural environment, the number of individuals in an anthill is about 200-300 ants, the maximum was about 500 individuals, Harpegnathos venator anthills settle in the soil, under stones or in the roots of trees.

Ants of this species feed only on live insects, when kept at home, it is best to feed them with Turkmen cockroaches, it is not recommended to give crickets, they can be poisoned, and usually refuse the larvae. It is not necessary to install the drinker in the formicaria.

For this species, a gypsum formicarium with a substrate is best suited, since the ants are moisture-loving, the humidity in the nest should be 99%, in the arena 70-80%, the temperature is 25-28 degrees, wintering is not required for this species. Recommended formicarium for Harpegnathos venator: Ponerinae House. For large colonies, we recommend the Double House Formicaria.

Harpegnathos venator (Венаторы)

Harpegnathos venator (Венаторы)
Муравьи вида Harpegnathos venator (Харпегнатос Венатор) распространены в Юго-Восточной Азии, хищные, дерзкие, крупные (до 20 мм), отличаются необычной внешностью, имеют черный окрас, желтоватые лапки и мандибулы вытянутой формы, умеют прыгать примерно на 10 см в длину и не боятся света.

В семье доминирующей особью может быть оплодотворённая матка или гамергат (оплодотворенный рабочий), если в колонии доминирует матка, гамергатов может быть несколько. Развитие от яйца до муравья занимает около 3 месяцев, примерно по месяцу на каждую стадию: яйцо, личинка, кокон.

В естественной среде число особей в муравейнике составляет около 200-300 муравьев, максимум встречалось около 500 особей, муравейники Венаторы обустраивают в почве, под камнями или в корнях деревьев.

Муравьи данного вида питаются только живыми насекомыми, при содержании в домашних условиях лучше всего кормить туркменскими тараканами, давать сверчков не рекомендуется, могут отравиться, а от личинок обычно отказываться. Устанавливать поилку в формикарий не обязательно.

Для данного вида лучше всего подойдёт гипсовый формикарий с субстратом, так как муравьи влаголюбивые, влажность в гнезде должна быть 99%, на арене 70-80%, температура 25-28 градусов, зимовка данному виду не требуется. Рекомендованный формикарий для Венаторов: Понерин Хаус.