Myrmecia forficata

Ant myrmecia forficata
Myrmecia forficata or the bulldog ant, one of the largest Myrmecia, is common in Australia. Has a very unusual appearance, the body is dark red with yellowish mandibles, large eyes and good vision. The size of the uterus reaches 25 mm, workers are slightly smaller, but also quite large 18-20 mm.

The dominant individual is the uterus, there are no gamergates, fertilization occurs during the flight. A colony can be raised from one uterus, but it will take a lot of time, the development cycle from the moment the egg appears about 3 months.

Myrmecia forficata builds nests in the ground in arid areas, the number of individuals reaches several thousand, which live in small sections underground with a narrow passage to the outside.

Ants eat honey syrup or nectar, they eat little protein, but it is needed to feed the larvae. It is advisable to install a drinking bowl in the formicarium.

Ants of this species do not need high humidity in the arena, 99% in the nest, 40-60% in the arena, temperature 23-28 degrees. Sand must be added to the formicarium. Myrmecia forficata wintering is not necessary. As a habitation for such an exotic pet, the Paraponera House formicarium with a deep nest is suitable. For large colonies, we recommend the Double House Formicaria.

Myrmecia forficata (Форфиката)

Cephalotes atratus (Атратус)
Myrmecia forficata (Мирмецея Форфиката) или муравей бульдог, один из самых крупных мирмеций, распространен в Австралии. Имеет очень необычную внешность, туловище темно красного цвета с желтоватыми мандибулами, большими глазами и хорошим зрением. Размер матки достигает 25 мм, рабочие чуть меньше, но тоже достаточно крупные 18-20 мм.

Доминирующая особь-матка, гамергатов нет, оплодотворение происходит во время лета. Колонию можно поднять с одной матки, но это займет не мало времени, цикл развития с момента появления яйца примерно 3 месяца.

Форфиката строит муравейники в земле на засушливых участках, число особей достигает нескольких тысяч, которые живут в небольших секциях под землей с узким проходом наружу.

Муравьи едят медовый сироп или нектар, белок едят мало, но он нужен для кормления личинок. В формикарий желательно установить поилку.

Высокая влажность на арене муравьям данного вида не требуется, в гнезде 99%, на арене 40-60%, температура 23-28 градусов. В формикарий необходимо добавить песок. Форфикате проводить зимовку не обязательно. В качестве жилья для такого экзотического питомца подойдет формикарий Понерин Хаус с углубленным гнездом.