Myrmecia pyriformis

Ant myrmecia pyriformis
Myrmecia pyriformis or bulldog ant, one of the largest ants on earth, is common in Australia. It has a very unusual appearance, the body and mandibles are black, large eyes and good eyesight. The size of the uterus reaches 33 mm, the workers are slightly smaller, but also quite large 20-28 mm.

The dominant individual is the uterus, there are no gamergates, fertilization occurs during the flight. A colony can be raised from one uterus, but it will take a lot of time, the development cycle from the moment the egg appears about 4 months.

Myrmecia pyriformis builds nests in the ground in arid areas, the number of individuals reaches several thousand, which live in small sections underground with a narrow passage outward.

Ants eat honey syrup or nectar, they eat little protein, but it is needed to feed the larvae. It is not necessary to install the drinker in the formicaria.

Ants of this species do not need high humidity in the arena, 99% in the nest, 40-60% in the arena, temperature 23-28 degrees. Sand must be added to the formicarium. It is not necessary for Myrmecia pyriformis to spend the winter. As a habitation for this exotic pet, the Paraponera House formicarium with a deep nest is suitable. For large colonies, we recommend the Double House Formicaria.

Myrmecia pyriformis (Приформис)

Myrmecia pavida (Павида)
Myrmecia pyriformis (Мирмецея Приформис) или муравей бульдог, один из самых крупных муравьев на земле, распространен в Австралии. Имеет очень необычную внешность, туловище и мандибулы черного цвета, большими глазами и хорошим зрением. Размер матки достигает 33 мм, рабочие чуть меньше, но тоже достаточно крупные 20-28 мм.

Доминирующая особь-матка, гамергатов нет, оплодотворение происходит во время лета. Колонию можно поднять с одной матки, но это займет не мало времени, цикл развития с момента появления яйца примерно 4 месяца.

Приформис строит муравейники в земле на засушливых участках, число особей достигает нескольких тысяч, которые живут в небольших секция под землей с узким проходом наружу.

Муравьи едят медовый сироп или нектар, белок едят мало, но он нужен для кормления личинок. Устанавливать поилку в формикарий не обязательно.

Высокая влажность муравьям данного вида на арене не требуется, в гнезде 99%, на арене 40-60%, температура 23-28 градусов. В формикарий необходимо добавить песок. Приформис проводить зимовку не обязательно. В качестве жилья для данного экзотического питомца подойдет формикарий Понерин Хаус с углубленным гнездом.